European Credit Transfer System (ECTS)

This is a standard for comparing the study attainment and performance of students of higher education across the European Union and other collaborating European countries. For successfully completed studies, ECTS-credits are awarded and simply called credits in the EDE-EM programme.

One academic year corresponds to 60 credits that are equivalent to 1500-1800 hours of study in all countries irrespective of standard or qualification type and is used to facilitate transfer and progression throughout the Union. (See here for more.)

Credit Requirement 

The general structure of EDE-EM is a three-year programme of 180 credits: 60 credits in each year. Each student is offered different curricula, which are associated with a choice of two (possibly three) partners in which the student will study. The student will spend most of her/his Doctorate (at least three semesters) in these two (possibly three) universities, called in the following universities of specialization.

Students should ask the authorization to the Director of Studies if they want to take more than 30 credits in a Semester of the Program.

Credits in a third university

This arrangement leaves open the possibility to visit during one semester a third university, Partner or Associated Partner of the EDE-EM  network, in which the student can take 30 credits that will be counted in the EDE-EM curriculum.